



Suruhanjaya Tenaga (Energy Commission) No. 12, Jalan Tun Hussein, Precinct 2, 62100 Putrajaya, Malaysia.

T: +603 8870 8500 F: +603 8888 8637

Toll Free: 1-800-2222-78(ST)

MEDIA STATEMENT

11 MARCH 2022

ST Awarded PEMUDAH Special Award for Improvement in Getting Electricity

Putrajaya, 11 Mar - The Energy Commission (ST) has recently been awarded the PEMUDAH Special Award for the contribution to the improvement in area of getting electricity. The award was given in conjunction with the PEMUDAH's 15 years anniversary, to acknowledge and recognize the member's contribution.

Among the contribution of ST include the cooperation with PEMUDAH and the industry to solve the power quality issue as evident in high number of consumer complaints. As a result of the intervention led by the ST and Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB), the number of complaints has reduced by 51%.

Apart from that, in Doing Business Report 2020, Malaysia has significantly improved its ranking in the Getting Electricity category from 59th position in 2012 to fourth in 2020. ST led the achievement together with TNB to ensure industry's smooth operation.

PEMUDAH, or also known as the Special Task Force to Facilitate Business, was established on 7 February 2007 as a collaboration between the public and private sector for business regulation reform. PEMUDAH is co-chaired by Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Economy), Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Chief Secretary to the Government, Tan Sri Dato' Seri Mohd Zuki bin Ali and captain of industry, Dato' Dr. Ir. Andy Seo Kian Haw.

Economic Planning Unit (EPU) and Malaysia Productivity Corporation (MPC) play a role as the Secretariat of PEMUDAH to facilitate the initiatives on regulatory reforms to enhance ease of doing business.

Ends

ABOUT THE ENERGY COMMISSION

For further enquiries, please contact:
Azlina Mohammad Jais/Zairulliati Mali/Muhammad Harith Safruddin
Promotions and External Relations
Tel: 03-8870 8753/019-3589255 (Azlina)/013 2183778 (Zairulliati)/018 3822545 (Harith)

Email: azlinamj@st.gov.my/zairulliati@st.gov.my/harith@st.gov.my

ABOUT THE ENERGY COMMISSION