

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

MEDIA RELEASE

Appointment of members of the Energy Commission

YB Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui, Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water with the consent of the Prime Minister, has agreed to appoint four (4) Members of the Energy Commission as follows:

Y.Bhg. Datuk Pg. Hassanel Bin Datuk Pg. Hj. Mohd Tahir

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Infrastructure Development of Sabah.

Y.Bhq. Datuk Abdul Rahim Bin Haji Hashim

President, International Gas Union (IGU) and former Senior Vice President, Research and Technology Division, PETRONAS.

Y.Bhg. Dato' Ir. Aishah Binti Dato' Haji Abdul Rauf

Former Vice President, Distribution, Tenaga Nasional Berhad.

Y.Brs. Dr. Ir. Philip Tan

Past President and Former Honorary Vice-President, Association of the Independent Power Producers (IPP) in Malaysia.

The members are appointed under section 5 (1) of the Energy Commission Act 2001 (Act 610) for a period of two (2) years effective 1 September 2009 to August 31, 2011.

With the appointment of the four (4) Members, the Energy Commission now have seven (7) members responsible for implementing the functions and powers in accordance with the Energy Commission Act 2001. The other three (3) Members of the Energy Commission are:

Y.Bhg. Dato' Ir. Pian Bin Sukro – Chairman of the Energy Commission.

Y.Bhg. Dato' Dr. Ali Bin Hamsa – Director General, Public Private Partnership Unit, Prime Minister Department.

Y.Brs. Ms. Loo Took Gee – Deputy Secretary General (Energy), Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water.

The four members appointed to the Energy Commission are to replace the following Members of the Energy Commission that have ended their terms as Commission Members on August 31, 2009:

YM Dato' Engku Hashim Al-Edrus Y.Bhg. Datuk Awang Haji Samat Y.Bhg. Dato' Ir. Lee Yee Cheong Y.Brs. Encik Muri Bin Muhammad

END

About The Energy Commission:

The Energy Commission is a statutory body with the role to regulate the energy sector in Malaysia, specifically the electricity supply industry and piped gas supply industry in the Peninsula and Sabah. The Energy Commission is responsible to ensure that the supply of electricity and piped gas to consumers is reliable, safe and at reasonable prices.

For further information please contact:

Md. Yuha Ismail (Corporate Communications Unit)
Tel: 03 2612 5531 / 533 Fax: 03 2694 1776
Email: yuha@st.gov.my / sueharti@st.gov.my

Release date: 21st October 2009

SUMMARY OF THE CURRICULUM VITAE OF ENERGY COMMISSION'S NEWLY APPOINTED MEMBERS

Y.Bhg. Datuk Pg. Hassanel Bin Datuk Pg. Hj. Mohd Tahir

Born on January 1, 1958, Datuk Pg Hassanel obtained his B.A (Honours) Social Science / Economic. He is currently the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Infrastructure Development of Sabah and has been in the Sabah state government service since 1980.

Y.Bhg. Datuk Abdul Rahim Haji Hashim

Born on October 5, 1953 at Johor Bahru, Johor, Datuk Abdul Rahim is currently the President of the International Gas Union for the period 2009 – 2012. He was the Vice President of Research and Technology Division before retired from PETRONAS in December 2008. He has served with PETRONAS since 1976 and has held his various positions within PETRONAS such as Managing Director / CEO PETRONAS Penapisan (Melaka) Sdn Bhd, Vice President, Human Resources Management Division and Vice President, Gas Business. He has attended the Harvard Advance Management Program in 1997. He obtained his B.Sc (Electronics & Electrical) Engineering from University of Birmingham in 1976. He is an Associate Member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, registered member of Board of Engineers Malaysia, Institution of Engineers Malaysia and ASEAN Chartered Professional Engineer. He has received Honorary Doctorate in Engineering from University of Birmingham in 2006.

Y.Bhg. Dato' Ir. Aishah Binti Dato' Haji Abdul Rauf

Born on November 14, 1952 at Parit Buntar, Perak, Dato' Ir. Aishah retired from TNB in November 2008 as the Vice President, Distribution TNB. She has served LLN / TNB since 1975 and has held various positions within LLN / TNB / TNB Group of Companies such as General Manager (Business Management) TNB Distribution, Chief Operating Officer – TNB Distribution Metropolitan, Managing Director – Malaysian Transformer Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd. She obtained her Bachelor Degree in Electrical Engineering with Honours from University of Liverpool in 1975. She has also attended the Business Acumen Program at Henley Management College in July 2003 and program at Harvard Business School in August 2000. She is a registered member with Professional Engineer MIEM and Board of Engineer Malaysia. She is also a recipient of Edgar Walford Merchant Prize for Session 1974/75 from University of Liverpool.

Y.Brs. Dr. Ir. Philip Tan

Dr. Ir. Philip Tan has been involved himself with the electricity supply industry for the last 40 years. He was the Past President (2007-2008) and the former Honorary Vice-President (2009), Association of the Independent Power Producers in Malaysia (Penjanabebas). He started his working career with National Electricity Board (NEB) in 1969 and opted for early retirement in 1996 from TNB as the Assistant General Manager, Strategic Management Unit to join Genting Sanyen Power Sdn Bhd as Senior General Manager, subsequently as the Executive Vice President. He was a sponsored NEB student and graduated from University of Malaya with Bachelor Degree (First Class Honours) in Mechanical Engineering. He sits in various committees and boards such as Council Member of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia, Member of the Energy Consultative Panel, Committee Member of Energy Council Malaysia, Member of SIRIM's Technical Committee on Petroleum and Gas Measurement, Member of Steering Committee for Malaysia Electricity Supply Industries Trust Account, Member of Malaysian Productivity Corporation Utility Consultative Panel to establish benchmarking KPIs for the various types of power generating plants and Member of Federation of Malaysian Manufactures (FMM) Energy Management Committee.