Request For Proposal for the renewal of operating licence of power plants under the first generation PPAs to extend the period for 5 or 10 years under a Revised PPA post-2016

The Energy Commission (EC) has received undertakings from the first generation Independent Power Producers (IPPs) indicating their commitments to reduce the commercial rates in the existing Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs) for a period of 48 months should the IPPs be successful in this bidding exercise to renew the licences under the PPAs.

In response to the above undertakings, EC has invited the IPPs involved and Tenaga Nasional Berhad to purchase the RFP document for the renewal. This restricted tender is to secure the required generation capacity post-2016, the period and capacity of which are at the discretion of the Government.

The bid closing date is 30th July 2012 at 12.00 noon, and the decision of the Government will be announced in October 2012. The following bidders have purchased the RFP document:

Qualified Participants Existing Facility (Existing Site) Existing  Capacity (MW)
YTL Power Generation Sdn Bhd Paka, Terengganu 780
YTL Power Generation Sdn Bhd Pasir Gudang, Johor 390
Genting Sanyen Power Sdn Bhd Kuala Langat, Selangor 720
Segari Energy Ventures Sdn Bhd Lumut, Perak 1303
Port Dickson Power Sdn Bhd Tanjung Gemuk, Port Dickson 436
Powertek Berhad Teluk Gong, Malacca 434
TNB Connaught Bridge (Open Cycle) 478
TNB Paka 999
TNB Pasir Gudang (Combined Cycle) 249
TNB Pasir Gudang (Open Cycle) 205
TNB Serdang (Unit 1, Unit 2 and Unit 3) 326

Energy Commission
30th Apr 2012